Not Necessarily Stoned but, Beautiful: The Jimi Hendrix Experience


Jimi Hendrix got his first guitar for $5 when he was 15 years old. Just ten years later he released what would become one of the greatest albums of all time, Are You Experienced. The debut album from The Jimi Hendrix Experience was an instant commercial success, second on the UK charts only to a little band called The Beatles whose album Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (The title track of which Jimi performed and made his own during the Monterey Pop Festival in 1969) sat atop the number one spot. 

Recorded with Mitch Mitchell on drums and Noel Redding on bass guitar, Are You Experienced contains Jimi Hendrix’s most influential and widely recognized songs. Tunes from this iconic record have been heard in such movies as Forrest Gump, Wayne’s World, White Men Can’t Jump, and Almost Famous to name a few. Jimi Hendrix continues to be one of, if not the biggest influence on modern guitar playing and this album continues to be his most critically acclaimed. It captures a moment in rock music history that thanks to modern technology, we can immerse ourselves in.

This week we are thrilled to offer the full Are You Experienced album for DLC! Also included in this release is the song “Highway Chile” originally released in 1997 on the MCA records reissue of Are You Experienced. The twelve songs will be available for all consoles on Tuesday, October 12.


  • "Purple Haze"*
  • "Manic Depression"*
  • "Hey Joe (Live)"
  • "Love or Confusion"*
  • "May This Be Love"*
  • "The Wind Cries Mary"*
  • "Fire (Live from Woodstock)"
  • "3rd Stone From the Sun"*
  • "Foxey Lady"*
  • "Are You Experienced?"*
  • "Stone Free"*
  • "Highway Chile"*


Tracks marked with * are also available in the family friendly LEGO Rock Band Music Store. These tracks will be available as individual tracks as well as Are You Experienced: Rock Band Edition (Album) on Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, and as individual tracks on Wii. Individual tracks are $1.99 on Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, and $2.00 on Wii. The album is $19.99 on Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3.

To discuss this DLC, visit the official discussion thread on the Rock Band forums.