Welcome to the Tragic Kingdom: No Doubt Brings Entire Iconic Album to Rock Band

No Doubt's second album, The Beacon Street Collection, got the band noticed, but with hits like "Don't Speak," "Just a Girl," and "Spiderwebs," Tragic Kingdom really brought No Doubt into the limelight. Frontwoman Gwen Stefani's songwriting on this album is what really set the band and herself apart from other artists at the time. Songs have such a passionate vibe when they're written and performed by the same person, and it really shows in Tragic Kingdom.

This album was released when I was just nine years old. That thought doesn't sit very well with me. I remember songs from this album being in the forefront of my youth, but to have been before I reached the double digits of life? Scary business.

Written back when albums were intended to be listened to as albums, Tragic Kingdom has a unique feel and flow to it, and playing it as a full album in Rock Band is an experience every No Doubt fan should have. Gwen's vocals are powerful and convey emotion like no other. Bassist Tony Kanal and guitarist Tom Dumont create unforgettable melodies. Drummer Adrian Young provides a challenge for even the most advanced Rock Band drummer. Having listened to this album for over half my life, I can say that playing tracks I know so well in Rock Band is a special experience. 

To add to the thirteen previously released No Doubt tracks in Rock Band, next week we will be releasing the remaining 9 tracks of this breakthrough album including:

  • "Different People" 
  • "End It on This" 
  • "Happy Now?" 
  • "Hey You" 
  • "Sixteen" 
  • "The Climb" 
  • "Tragic Kingdom" 
  • "World Go 'Round" 
  • "You Can Do It" 

These tracks will be available individually on PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, and Wii. They will also be available for PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 as a Deep Cuts 9-pack with just the songs above, or a Complete Album pack including the previously released Tragic Kingdom tracks "Spiderwebs," "Don't Speak," "Sunday Morning," "Excuse Me Mister," and "Just a Girl." 

To keep the female power theme going, Australian female rocker Orianthi's hit single "According to You" and "Dearest (I'm So Sorry)" from female-fronted rock band Picture Me Broken will come to Rock Band this week as well. Orianthi is a wicked guitar player and "According to You" features a scorching solo, so practice your HOPOs. You're going to need them for "Dearest (I'm So Sorry)" too. Vocalists should be prepared to go from sweet and melodic to screaming and angry throughout the song. 

These tracks will be available individually on PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, and Wii. All tracks will be available on all systems May 4th. Individual tracks are $1.99 on the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, and $2.00 on the Wii. The No Doubt Deep Cuts 9-pack will be $14.99 and the No Doubt Complete Album Pack will be $19.99. 

To discuss this DLC, visit the official discussion thread in the Rock Band forums.